The Newest, the Latest, and Most Recently Revised Plan

by Bella Rum

low-carb-foodsLast week, H’s doctor told him that his A1C test levels (blood test that provides information about average levels of blood glucose) were almost at prediabetes levels. Quick-fast, do something NOW! Well, she didn’t say quick-fast, but you get the idea. A few weeks ago my doctor told me that I needed to lose weight, too. No surprises there. Before I left the examining room, she echoed H’s doctor’s admonition, “Less carbs.”

less carbs = weight loss = lower A1C

H was about 15 pounds over his goal. He’s lost five pounds already. Another 10 to go. As for my goal, it’s enough to say that I’ll still be working the pounds off long after H has reached his goal.

H, who exercises like it’s his religion, has been sidetracked by a number of things in recent months. I’m sure that has something to do with the weight gain. I’ve had a few start-stop moments when I started to gain control only to lose it after a few pounds. So here we go with a new plan just as all the eat-till-you-drop holidays are waving at us from the not-to-distant future.

I’ve never counted carbs, never been on a low-carb diet, never even thought about it. I am surprised at how I’m adapting. I also stopped counting calories a few years ago. I just changed my portion sizes when I went on a plan, and I’m sure my carbs reduced some because of the smaller portion sizes, but I never specifically watched carbs. I’m looking for recipes and ideas and advice. There’s a lot out there.

Proteins and veggies are the nuclear family for this plan. It isn’t difficult to work veggies into your meal. Fruits are the in-laws. You want to see them enough but not too much. Breads and pastas and sugary desserts are  the outlaws. You wouldn’t want to be caught dead with them.

It’s always about choices, isn’t it? It’s all about deciding what you can live without. Do I want a potato or some other high-carb lovely. Sure can’t have both. And what about spaghetti??? Maybe once a month??? In maintenance??? See what I mean? Choices!

So that’s our new plan. It’s working well and I feel good about it, but like Karen Carpenter said, “We’ve only just begun.” I’ll let you know in a couple of months. For now, we’re very conscious of what we’re eating, but we’ll go with the more liberal version of low-carb on maintenance (what’s maintenance). It will be interesting to see the results of our A1C levels at our upcoming appointments. Mine is next month and H’s is in December.

