Happy Thanksgiving

by Bella Rum

thanksgiving-horn-of-plentyI just wrote an obnoxious post about a run-in with a company about an online purchase, but I decided today, the day before Thanksgiving, is not the day to hit publish on an annoyance that has already been resolved. Besides, it’s out of my system now.

This morning I’m making my dishes to take to Thanksgiving dinner. H is prepping for the marinated vegetable salad for me, and I’m showing him how to make my pumpkin pie recipe. The oven will soon be making that wonderful holiday smell of pumpkin, nutmeg and cinnamon. I turned the television off the news, which is nigh on to driving me crazy, to the channel that plays seasonal tunes. I’m part of the population that likes Christmas carols.

I talked with my brother this morning. Thank goodness he loves to keep family gatherings a part of our lives. He is committed to it, and I love him for it. He reminded me to bring a big cooler for oysters, shrimp and venison. H enjoys venison, but I’ll take care of the shrimp, thank you very much. We both love oysters.

We plan to take Route 5 down to my brother’s. It’s a historic route, established in 1619. Its plantations and farms along the James River have survived the Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and the War Between the States. Years ago, we used to ride H’s motorcycle there. It’s a beautiful drive. It takes a little longer, but we decided to leave early and enjoy. There will be less traffic and no traffic lights. That’s a bonus even if it takes longer.

I commented on a blog yesterday that I have a lot to be thankful for this Thanksgiving, and it’s true. It’s been a good year, and I haven’t always been able to say that. Who among us has? Whatever your situation this year, I hope you can enjoy this day of thanks. Happy Thanksgiving to you.

