Let’s Talk Eye to Eye

by Bella Rum

sled

It’s very early, still dark outside, and an aggressive downpour is pounding the roof. I don’t know how H can sleep through it.  He’s talented that way.

H brought some things down from the attic yesterday: wreaths, my old sled, garlands. We haven’t gotten to the tree yet, but I heard H telling Lilou that we’re going to put Dickens’ Village up this year. She won’t be able to keep her hands off of it. She won’t bother the houses, but she’ll love playing with the people. I learned a trick a few years ago. When the older two were about 5 or 6, I bought a bunch of figures at Dollar Tree (3 for $1) and stopped using my original figures. They can play with the imposters all they want. 

H hung the wreaths on the windows yesterday. It was a calm, cloudless, sunny day. As soon… and I mean AS SOON as he finished, a crazy wind started wildly blowing them to and fro until it finally flipped one of them completely backwards. We have eerie wind here. It comes over the pasture.

I went to a regular ophthalmologist last week. I haven’t been in years, but I thought it was about time for a regular checkup. I knew she wouldn’t be able to do much to improve my vision, but it’s past time for  the other things an ophthalmologist checks, even though I wasn’t really worried about glaucoma or macular degeneration. I figure anyone who has the retina issues that I have is not going to get struck by lightning twice. It’s only a theory, but it turned out to be true – nothing new here. Thankfully. When I told her I have Idiopathic Juxtafoveal Retinal Telangiectasis (IJRT), she said, “Boy, you didn’t win the lottery on retinas, did you?” Not exactly what you want to hear from an eye doc. I said, “It’s pretty rare.” She said she’d seen thousands of patients, and I was only the third one with IJRT. And you know what ‘rare’ means in the world of research. Rare disease or condition = little or no profits for pharmaceutical companies = no research. I have a couple of pedestrian cataracts. Not as sexy as IJRT, but preferable.

