What the Dickens

by Bella Rum

This is the last of the decorations. Can you stand a little more? This is Dickens’ Village. Its home is in the kitchen on the buffet/hutch. My dishes are usually on it, but I always put the village there because it has a mirror that reflects the scene, and because it’s the only good space I have for it.

My neighbor and very good friend who lived across the street from me in Maryland was an avid collector of Department 56. I worked from home, and her son stayed with me occasionally when he got home from school. I refused money, and suddenly I found myself the owner of (one after another) Dickens’ Village houses. I eventually bought some of the figures and trees that made it come to life… almost. I wouldn’t have collected them, but I love the charm, and I’m glad to have them to remind me of our warm friendship. They have a magical quality especially when the room is dark. I don’t have room to put all the pieces out, and the figures in these photos are smaller than the originals (cheapies from Dollar Tree) because the grands play with them. I try to save a life where ever I can.

img_1946~img_1951~img_1955~img_1959~image2-3

Here’s the poop on “What the dickens!”

Where did that phrase originate? Not from Dickens. The answer is Shakespeare. Here’s the quote from The Merry Wives of Windsor.
Mrs. Page: I cannot tell what the dickens his name is my husband had him of. What do you call your knight’s name, sirrah?
Robin: Sir John Falstaff.

