Help in the Kitchen

by Bella Rum

What a difference a year makes. Last year, there was a point in preparing the meal when I got a little overwhelmed, and thought that I wasn’t going to pull it all together. I was so physically impaired, but it’s hard to give up what you’ve always done. That’s another post.

In hindsight, H realized how hard it was for me last year. He told me a couple of days before Christmas that he was going to help me in the kitchen. I don’t know how he did it, but he managed to help remove the debris of Christmas morning, do all of his usual stuff with the kids, get batteries for the lone gift we missed, etc., and still help me in the kitchen. I could tell he really wanted to make it easier, and he’s so good in the kitchen now. He knows what to do and how to do it. He was fantastic. I was tired when we sat down to eat, but it wasn’t the kind of exhaustion I felt last year. I feel so much better since the ablation. I still marvel at how well that all went.

And the stuffing was good, y’all.

After dinner, my DIL told us to take a nap, and we did. She and my son did all the dishes. I didn’t have to do a thing. I slept like a baby for an hour and a half. So did H. Then we enjoyed the evening, and everyone ate leftovers when they felt the urge. It was very informal.

My DIL said they will cook tonight or we can eat leftovers again, and they’ll cook tomorrow night. She is a very good cook. The next night we’ll do takeout. In other words, no more cooking for me. 🙂

I had the best conversations with the older grands, and the littlest one fell asleep in my arms as I sang The Ants Go Marching to her. It was a good day. I hope yours was, too.

