Another One Almost Gone

by Bella Rum


grand-trio-xmas-morningMy DIL took this one.

What a nice visit with the kids (the adult ones too). The oldest grands are growing up. Sometimes it’s easier than other times to see the changes. This was one of those revelatory visits. They are in the process of baking into good people. It’s fascinating to watch.

My son got a promotion a couple of weeks ago, and that feels good. No matter the age of our children, it always feels good when they progress, reach, stretch. We still get that good feeling – like when he was ten and scored a goal. Without a doubt, it’s his accomplishment, but H and I always feel a part of it.

Last night, my son and DIL treated us to Olive Garden. I ate carbs in the form of delicious shrimp scampi. I so enjoyed it. I ate every shrimp, every strand of angel hair pasta,  and every drop of garlicy butter sauce.

I think today is their last day. They will head to my DIL’s parents’ house tomorrow afternoon. They will celebrate New Year’s together. There’s always an adjustment after they leave. The energy level drops like a dud rocket when they back out of the driveway. H and I will start removing the decorations and making way for a new year.

No snow for Christmas. It was 68º yesterday. I’m ready for hot soup and cold snow. January, what will you bring?

