Around the House

by Bella Rum

We’ve had some quiet days here with snow everywhere and no place to go. We did venture out yesterday to drop off a few things at Goodwill, to return a couple of Christmas gifts that didn’t pan out, and to pick up a couple of things at the grocery store.

Last week, when we started putting away the Christmas trappings, I saw a couple of things in the guest room closets that made me wonder why I’d kept them. So I tossed them. Then I saw a couple more and a couple more. The next thing I knew, we’d pulled everything out of the closets in both rooms, and the house was a mess again, but I never get over how good it feels to get rid of clutter. The closets look so nice now. There are even empty spaces. Our bedroom closets are next.

H put the paint and brushes in our bathroom two days ago, but we’ve done nothing. We only have our bathroom, the powder room and the utility room left to paint. Neither of us seems terribly anxious to get started.

H wants to renovate the kitchen this year. I just can’t get my motor started. I can’t stand the hustle and bustle of workers in the house. I usually find something to do outside of the house or retreat to the bedroom with a book. The guy who transformed our dining room into an office was a very nice guy, but after only three days, I was longing for all the dust and hammering and banging to disappear. Can you imagine the disturbance that renovating a kitchen will cause. On the bright side, it would give me something to blog about.

I’m off to get a cup of coffee. Happy tenth day of a new year to you!

