A Visitor, a Puzzle and a Book

by Bella Rum

I wrote this yesterday, but I was interrupted and didn’t get back to publish it before midnight.
img_2314
H went to the dentist this morning, something that doesn’t bother him in the least. :/

While he was at the dentist, I made a cake, something that doesn’t bother me in the least. 🙂

A friend is coming for lunch tomorrow. The cake I made has carbs galore, but we’ll eat only a very small slice for dessert. Moderation is a skill, but rationalization is an art. To be safe, I’ll probably freeze half of it, and give her the rest to take home. Lying is skill and art combined.

img_2319Idle Time by Heritage 

We’re in the middle of another puzzle, and she is a puzzler, too. So we have built-in entertainment.

I finished The Sleepwalker by Chris Bohjalian. It was a page-turner and  worth the read. I didn’t guess the ending until fairly close to the end. If you prefer an audible version, I should tell you that the narrator was pretty awful, the worst I’ve come across. It didn’t stop me, though. I enjoyed it in spite of her monotone voice and robotic cadence. Think Siri.

I started a new book today, a complete departure. Remember the book Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg? If you don’t, you may remember the movie starring Kathy Bates and Mary Stuart Masterson. I’m reading another book by Flagg, The-All Girl Filling Station’s Last Reunion. I just started it a few hours ago, but it’s light and hilarious. Fannie Flagg narrates it. She does not sound like a robot.

If anything major happens in the world, I’ll miss it because I’ve recently buried my head in books and cooking shows. I still watch enough news to get a heads-up in case Putin decides to occupy Virginia so I’ll have time to hide the silver in the well (what well?) (what silver?).

It was 73 degrees today. I’m not complaining, but that is just wrong. It’s February.

