Some Like it Thin

by Bella Rum

The kids will get here this morning. I decided to make garlicky green beans, meatloaf and mashed potatoes. I’ve done very well on the scales this week and decided I’d enjoy this weekend but… small portions. No dessert, just sherbet for the kids.

Yesterday, I unintentionally jumped all over the last nerve of the lady-at-the-deli. H stood in line at the deli in Kroger, and I ran all over the store gathering the other items we needed. When I finished, he was eating a sample of hard salami as the lady-at-the-deli sliced it. I tasted it and said to H, “I hope the rest of it isn’t this thick.” Okay. I like my salami thin. He usually tells the-lady-at-the-deli “thin” if he’s the one getting it, but I guess he forgot. This salami was wad-up-in-your-mouth thick.

The lady-at-the-deli must have heard me when I told H that I hoped the rest of it wasn’t that thick, because she took a deep breath and said, “I’ll do the rest thinner.” She then took a slice of the thin meat and brought it over to us. Saying nothing, she held it out… toward me. H said, “That looks good.” She then shoved it further toward me, getting eye contact and still saying nothing. I smiled and said, “Thank you. That’s perfect.” She went back to slicing. She did the same routine – glaring and never saying a word – with the cheese and ham. Awkward. Here’s the thing, I felt kind of guilty and picky. So picky. I think I ruined her morning because I like thin salami. It’s hard to serve the public, and I don’t relish being one of “those people” that they go home and tell stories about.

Look at this:

Meet the Free Electric hybrid bike. Billionaire founder Manoj Bhargava and his team developed the Free Electric hybrid bicycle to take advantage of mechanical energy created by humans to solve one of the world’s most pervasive problems.

electric-hybrid-bike

When an individual pedals the bike, the action drives a flywheel, which turns a generator and charges a battery.
… this free power invention has the potential to lift the 1.3 billion people who presently live without electricity out of poverty.
Having access to clean, free energy will enable poverty-stricken communities to not only light their homes but to connect to the internet and get educated. Bhargava says the reason the majority of those who are poor stay poor is because they have no power. He aims to fix this with the free energy bicycle.
— Source: Expand Your Consciousness

There are so many challenges in the world and even more on the horizon. Inventors and those who fund them can impact huge problems on a wide scale and change lives forever with one invention. It’s kind of inspiring.

