The Scales, The Powder Room and The Grippers

by Bella Rum


lady-on-scaleThe scales are finally back to where they were before the kids came for a visit. I think this 80/20 thing is good, but 90/10 sure would be faster for reducing. :/ I’ve been at this since late September. It’s been a long slog, albeit a comfortable one. It may have been slow, but I have lost 30 pounds – nothing to sneeze at. All in all, I’d say this is the best way for me. Dr. Heartthrob emphasized taking it slow. He can’t say I haven’t done that.

H is finishing up his Jan/Feb projects painting our tiny powder room red. I’m not sure why this house even bothered with a powder room. It has a guest bath that’s accessible to everyone, but there’s a little powder room tucked in just around the corner and across from he laundry room. I think it’s probably more comfortable for guests because it’s private back there.

grip [grip]
1. a grasping or clasping.
2. to secure and maintain a tight hold on; seize firmly.

A couple of days ago, I had the grippers. I don’t think it was an intestinal virus. I think the sour cream I ate at dinner had gone over. It tasted okay, but it’s the only thing I can think. H and I ate the same dinner except for that. It was the end of the container. I should have thrown it out. I blame it on that “waste not, want not” philosophy that a lot of us were taught by Depression Era parents. I still remember when we moved back home from Dad’s – after being away for years – and my son cleaned out my pantry for me. He pulled up the trashcan and tossed every single thing in it that had an expired date. Let me tell you, I took gas on that one, but he probably kept me from killing H and myself. I guess I didn’t pound that “waste not…” thing into his head.

