Yellow in the Pasture Again

by Bella Rum

Insomnia! It gets tiresome. This is the third night in a row that I’ve had to get out of bed in the middle of the night. Sleeping is a job for me.

We’re meeting at my niece’s house this morning to help her move more of her things to a storage unit. Her closing is coming quickly, but she still hasn’t found a house. She isn’t very happy about that, but she has a place to stay until she finds something. We helped her last week, too, and a couple of her friends helped. It went fast – only a few hours. Her house is small, she doesn’t have a ton of stuff, and she’s organized. She had already staged all the boxes and small things at the front door. We’ll finish up next week. Not having to do all of it in one day makes it much easier. H is a fantastic mover. That man loves to work. That kind of thing never changes in a person. My son is the same way.

We made reservations for our vacation yesterday. The most obnoxious woman answered the phone. Maybe she was having a bad day. I ended up making the reservations online, which is what I should have done to begin with. I usually enjoy vacation once I get there, but H loves it. He’s a fun person to vacation with.

The pasture is yellow with buttercups again. Winter has finally been clubbed into submission. H pulled out my big turquoise planters a few days ago. Soon I will fill them with something pretty. The hostas and columbine and peonies are up. All must be well.

