Mohs Surgery and Stuffed Pork Tenderloin & Mediterranean Baked Chicken Recipes

by Bella Rum

H’s regular dermatologist removed several basal cell carcinomas (BCC) for him a couple of weeks ago, but he has to have Mohs surgery to remove two more from his face later this week. This is an ongoing project. They will continue to pop up as long as he lives. I can’t believe I haven’t had this problem. I grew up on the beach, water skiing, swimming and on boats every summer, and I’m a redhead. Okay. I used to be a redhead.

I tried two new recipes this week, both winners. I adapted each of them only a little, but I’ve made links to the originals. One was stuffed pork tenderloin from Chaos in the Kitchen. I got the tenderloin on a special for only a few bucks. I would show you a pic, but mine turned out a bit messy. The stuffing was falling out all over the place. I made a little too much of it, but it tasted great. I altered the recipe a little, sautéing the spinach with garlic before stuffing the loin. I also altered the time, because it needed a little more cooking. I should have used my thermometer.

Stuffed Pork Tenderloin

Ingredients
• 1 pork tenderloin
• 1 oz dried mushrooms, soaked and chopped
• 3 cups fresh spinach, washed, dried and sautéed with 1 clove of minced garlic in a small amount of olive oil
• 4 oz goat cheese
• 2 tbsp sun-dried tomatoes in oil
• 2 garlic cloves, minced (1 sautéed with spinach, 1 for stuffing)
• 1/4 cup pine nuts, toasted about 5 minutes @ 350F
• 1 tsp rosemary, minced
• 1 tsp thyme leaves, minced
• zest of one lemon
• salt and pepper
• 1/2 cup basil pesto
• 2 tbsp oil or butter
• 1 tbsp honey
Instructions
1 Preheat oven to 400 F.
2 Cut a deep slit lengthwise on the tenderloin from end to end without going all the way through.  Open the tenderloin and pound out as flat as possible.
3 Sauté 1 clove garlic in a little olive oil for 1 minute. Add prepared spinach and sauté until wilted: about 1 to 2 minutes.
4 Combine mushrooms and next 10 ingredients (including spinach) in a bowl.  Spread mixture over pounded tenderloin and roll.  Tie with kitchen string.
5 In an oven safe heavy skillet, heat oil or butter and honey over medium heat until browning but not burnt.
6 Brown tenderloin on all sides.
7 Transfer skillet to the oven and bake 30 more minutes.
TIP: You can make the stuffing ahead so preparation goes faster at dinnertime.

The second one was Mediterranean Baked Chicken from The Clever Carrot. Don’t you love that name? It was easy as pie and very tasty. I changed the time on this one because I like the veggies a little more done. I also added a red bell pepper to the vegetable combo and some whole Kalamata olives in addition to the chopped ones. I also think eggplant would be good in this. This recipe is pretty healthy. Bonus.

MEDITERRANEAN BAKED CHICKEN

Ingredients
Marinade
• 1x 14 oz. jar of marinated artichoke hearts, juice only
• 2 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
• 4 sprigs of fresh oregano, leaves stripped
• 1½ lbs. boneless, skinless chicken thighs
Bake
• 2 tbsp. olive oil, divided
• 1 small red onion, thinly sliced
• 1 pint cherry tomatoes, left whole
• reserved artichoke hearts
• 1x 14 oz. can white beans, drained & rinsed
• ¼ c. roughly chopped Kalamata olives and some more whole
• 1x 8 oz. tub marinated bocconcini (mini-mozzarella balls), drained
• salt
• freshly ground black pepper
Garnish
• ¼ c. roughly chopped parsley
• 2 tbsp. basil leaves, cut into ribbons
Kitchen Notes:

Save extra artichoke juice to drizzle over the finished dish for flavor.

You will need a roasting pan at least 13½ x 11 inches or larger.

Substitutions:

Swap mozzarella for crumbled feta and can add bell peppers or mushroom, etc.

Use cannellini or Great Northern beans.

