Slow Cooker Pork Roast and Barbecue Sauce

by Bella Rum

This is the slow-cooker pork roast recipe I mentioned a couple of posts back. You can check out the blog where I found it:  “Add a Pinch.” It was delicious, but my roast was much bigger than the one Robyn used. Her recipe calls for a 3 to 5 pound roast. I used a Boston Butt that was 7.7 pounds. It weighed over two pounds more than my son at birth. I must have cooked it at least 12 hours. Then I let it rest on warm for a couple of hours. It shredded beautifully and was one of the easiest recipes I’ve ever made. Also, I used Emeril’s Rib Rub instead of making my own. We like it. Next time, I will make this the night before or use a smaller roast. It’s just the two of us, but sometimes I cook like there’s a starving army waiting on the patio.

Pork Roast Recipe

Serves: 8
Ingredients
  • Pork Shoulder Blade Roast or Picnic (3-5 pounds)
  • 8-10 dashes Worcestershire sauce
  • 3-5 tablespoons your favorite dry rub, (+more if desired) (I used Emeril’s Rib Rub)

Directions
1. Place meat in the slow cooker. Add dashes of Worcestershire sauce to the top of the meat until it is well covered. Then sprinkle heavily with dry rub. Cook on low setting of slow cooker for 8-10 hours. Leave meat in the slow cooker on the “warm” setting for about 4 more hours or until the meat easily will pull with two forks.
2. Internal temperature of pork roast should be between 190º F and 205º F.
3. Remove from slow cooker and allow to rest about 5-10 minutes. Then, slice or pull for serving, basting with pan juices from slow cooker.
4. Serve warm.
5. Leftovers should be kept in an airtight container in the refrigerator or freezer.

This is my barbecue sauce. I adapted it from several recipes. We use it with pork and chicken. I didn’t turn the ketchup right side up. 🙂
Bella’s Barbecue Sauce

1/4 cup yellow mustard
1/4 cup Grey Poupon Mustard Harvest Coarse Ground/grainy-type
1 1/2 cup ketchup
1/2 cup brown sugar plus 2 tablespoons
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
1 tablespoon molasses
2 garlic cloves, smashed
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
2 cups cider vinegar

Add all ingredients except vinegar to a sauce pan. Add vinegar as you mix all ingredients together. Bring to a simmer. Simmer gently, stirring occasionally, for ten to fifteen minutes or until the sugar dissolves and mixture thickens to desired consistency. Remove from heat and allow to sit for awhile.

SaveSave

