Tying Up Loose Ends: Picture Hanging, Blinds and Mailbox Instalations

by Bella Rum

Yesterday was a very productive day. Crystal wanted to hang her pictures, she needed blinds on the back door (single woman living alone), and she needed a new mailbox. We made a trip to Home Depot for the blinds and mailbox. H could have fixed the existing mailbox, but the previous owners’ name was on it. The letters were actually raised and painted white so they were obvious. I’m not sure where they found a mailbox like that. The wife loved monograms. She was also smitten with decals. There were initials everywhere, and inspirational sayings in their kids’ rooms. I think Crystal will keep the one that’s over the closet door in the room where her granddaughter will sleep when she visits. We peeled off the rest of them. Easy-peasy.

H installed the blinds and mailbox. Crystal told me to do what ever I wanted with the pictures, but I made her look at everything before we hung anything. It all turned out well. I did a grouping over the couch that I think she really loved. It makes a big impact when you enter the front door.

I was so exhausted last night that I couldn’t have told you my name. I tried to listen to some news, but I couldn’t process the latest Trumpian shenanigans. I couldn’t focus. It doesn’t matter. There will only be more of the same tomorrow and the next day, and the next … The more it changes, the more it stays the same.

We are going to take our time this morning. We’ll go over later to finish hanging the pictures. H will pile all the boxes that are on her deck into the back of his truck, and take them to the dump. I need to throw in a load of laundry before we go, and water my plants. My house is beginning to miss me, but all the hard work at Crystal’s is finished. Only the fun stuff is left, and my own messes have promised not to go anywhere.

We’ve all had a blast doing this. It was a labor of love. She told us the other night how happy it made her to just sit on her deck with us, just hang out and talk. This move is a good thing for all of us.

SaveSaveSaveSave

